The Trust’s Members have the responsibility/powers to:

  • oversee the achievement of the Trust’s objectives;
  • appoint other Members and some Directors/Trustees and to remove Members or Directors/Trustees should it become necessary to do so; and
  • make amendments to the Trust’s Articles of Association that determine the constitution and governance arrangements of the Trust.

b) Board of Directors/Trustees
It is the role of the Board of Directors/Trustees to:

  • determine the vision and values, strategic plan, annual objectives and targets for the Trust, and to monitor achievement against these;
  • ensure that the business and finance of the Trust are well led and managed
  • ensure probity and fulfilment of statutory and regulatory responsibilities;
  • appoint members of the Local Advisory Boards;
  • determine the arrangements for setting of key policies; and
  • appoint the CEO and the Headteacher of each School and set arrangements for their performance management.

c) Local Governing Body(s)
It is the role of the Local Governing Body(s) of each School to:

  • carry forward the Trust’s vision in a way that is appropriate to the specific qualities and community characteristics of the School;
  • ensure that standards of achievement are high;
  • monitor and evaluate the work of the School systematically in relation to student performance, student behaviour, self-evaluation and improvement, budget and financial performance and community cohesion; and
  • act in an advisory capacity to the School and Head of School.

d) Finance & Resources Committee (including Audit)
The role of the Finance and Resources Committee, which comprises 5 Directors/Trustees including the Executive Headteacher, is as follows:

Finance: Oversight of, and advice and support to the Board on matters relating to financial management, strategy and policies [including setting of annual budgets and detailed oversight of in-year financial performance]; the safeguarding and use of assets/resources; ensuring that the Trust operates within the law and regulatory environment in relation to its finances and its role as an employer; and compliance with legislation relating to Health & Safety.

Audit: Oversight of, and advice to the Board on: the adequacy and effectiveness of systems of risk management and internal control; the Trust’s audit strategy and annual plan and the appointment, dismissal and remuneration of internal and financial statements auditors; monitoring of actions to address audit findings; and ensuring that all allegations of fraud and irregularity are appropriately investigated and that control weaknesses addressed.

Heartlands Community Trust Members
Jeff Twentyman
Sian Roberts
Nick Chambers
Judith Gainsborough 

Heartlands Community Trust – Board of Directors/Trustees
Chair: Jeff Twentyman
Joint Vice-Chairs: Sian Roberts & Lincoln Abbotts
Colin Adams
Joe Dilger
Adrian Cojocaru
Omar Majid
Margaret Sumner
Toby Castle
Mo Gichaara
Juliet Adu-Gyamfi
Ronke Sallu

Heartlands High School – Local Governing Body
Chair: Maxine Apcher
Vice-Chair: Craig Pattinson
Elen Roberts – Headteacher
Winnie Egdell – Staff Governor
Cecilia Dosu
Neil Thompson
Marie Kelly
Richard Allen Greene – Parent Governor
Daniella Adeluwoye
Phillip Dominique
Tanvir Shahjahan
Mahmood Norouzimehr – Parent Governor

The Grove (Local Governing Body)
Chair: Patrick Donovan
Vice-Chair – Margaret Sumner
Lucia Santi – Headteacher
Luke Stallard
Stephen Schaw Miller
Olivia Newbolt – Parent Governor
Devrim Beyzade – Parent Governor
Mike Freeman – Staff Governor
Joel Keane
Orazio Cappello
Siobhan Lloyd
Elizabeth Alagiah–Glomseth

Finance & Resources Committee
Chair: Colin Adams
Vice-Chair: Adrian Cojocaru
Joe Dilger
Omar Majid
Craig Pattinson

Governors Scheme of Delegation (pdf)
Governing Body: Summary Register of Business Interests (pdf)
Current membership of the Governing Body and its sub-committees (pdf)
Governing Body: Attendance at Meetings (pdf)
Governing Body: Membership (pdf)
Governing Body: Persons of Significant Control Register (pdf)
HCT Articles of Association (pdf)
HCT Scheme of Constitution & Scheme of Governance (pdf)
Governors Code of Conduct (pdf)
Governance Schedule 2021–22 (pdf)
Funding Agreement (pdf)

To contact:

Jeff Twentyman, Chair Board of Trustees
Maxine Alpcher, Chair, Heartlands High School Local Governing Body
Patrick Donovan, Chair, The Grove Local Governing Body

Please get in touch with Jo Millard, Clerk to the Governing Body

Alternatively, you can write by post to:
Jo Millard
Clerk to the Governing Body
Heartlands Community Trust
Heartlands High School
22 Station Road
London, N22 7ST

For phone enquiries please call Heartlands High School reception on 020 8826 1230